# Cardo Packtalk Edge vs Pro

Source: https://lidandvisor.com/blog/cardo-packtalk-edge-vs-pro
Published: 2026-10-09
Publisher: Lid & Visor

**Short answer:** The Packtalk Pro adds crash detection, auto on/off and larger 45mm JBL speakers over the Edge, and lists at $449.95 against $395.96 for the Edge. Both use the magnetic Air Mount. The Edge is the better buy if you do not need crash detection; the Pro makes sense for riders who often ride alone.

The Packtalk Edge and Packtalk Pro sit next to each other at the top of Cardo's lineup, and the price gap is not large. This page is for riders deciding whether the Pro's extras are worth paying for. We compare what each listing actually states: crash detection, auto on/off, speakers, mount and voice control. Some commonly discussed differences, such as battery size and weight, are not stated in the listings, so we flag them as not confirmed rather than repeat figures we cannot verify.

## What each listing confirms

**Packtalk Edge** ($395.96 single, $719.96 dual): waterproof against rain, mud, dust and snow; Natural Voice operation, so you say 'hey Cardo' and give a command; and the Air Mount magnetic mount that the unit snaps onto. Cardo's Packtalk Edge ORV listing adds 40mm JBL speakers with three audio profiles.

**Packtalk Pro** ($449.95 single, $827.96 dual): crash detection; auto on/off; Sound by JBL with 45mm speakers; the Air Mount; and 2nd generation DMC mesh with easy grouping and auto healing.

## Spec table

Built only from the listings. 'Not stated' means the listing does not mention it, not that the feature is missing.

| Spec | Packtalk Edge | Packtalk Pro |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Listing price, single | $395.96 | $449.95 |
| Listing price, dual | $719.96 | $827.96 |
| Crash detection | Not stated | Yes |
| Auto on/off | Not stated | Yes |
| Speakers | JBL 40mm (Edge ORV listing) | JBL 45mm |
| Mount | Air Mount magnetic | Air Mount magnetic |
| Mesh | Not stated on motorcycle listing | DMC 2nd gen |
| Voice control | Natural Voice | Not stated |
| Waterproof | Yes, rating not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | Not stated | Not stated |

Cardo Packtalk Edge vs Packtalk Pro

[See the Cardo Packtalk lineup](https://lidandvisor.com/best/best-cardo-packtalk-intercoms)

## Crash detection: the main reason to pay more

Crash detection is the headline feature of the Pro. The listing names it but does not explain how alerts are triggered or sent, or what setup the Cardo app needs. Read Cardo's documentation before you depend on it, and keep it switched on and set up with valid emergency contacts if you buy the Pro for this reason.

Riders who most often value crash detection are those who ride alone, ride remote roads with little traffic, or commute at hours when few people are around. If you nearly always ride in a group, the people around you are your first line of help, and the Edge may be enough.

Note: Crash detection is a backup. Still tell someone your route and expected arrival when you ride alone.

## Battery, weight and other claims not confirmed

A common reason riders give for choosing the Pro is a larger battery, and a common reason for the Edge is that it is smaller and lighter. Neither listing states battery capacity, talk time or weight, so we cannot confirm those differences from our sources. If battery life matters for long touring days, check Cardo's spec sheet for each unit before buying.

Likewise, the Edge's motorcycle listing does not state which mesh generation it uses. The Pro listing states 2nd generation DMC. Both are Cardo DMC products and are meant to group with other Cardo DMC units; confirm firmware compatibility in the Cardo Connect app. Our [how to update a Cardo Packtalk](https://lidandvisor.com/blog/how-to-update-cardo-packtalk) page explains updates.

## Day to day use

Both units use the Air Mount, so removing the unit to charge or to stop it walking off a parked bike is the same on each. Auto on/off on the Pro saves one step each ride, which some riders appreciate and others never notice.

Speaker size matters most at highway speed with a loud helmet. The Pro's 45mm speakers are larger than the 40mm JBL speakers listed for the Edge ORV, but larger speakers need deeper pockets in your helmet. Check fit with our [how to install a Cardo Packtalk](https://lidandvisor.com/blog/how-to-install-cardo-packtalk) guide, and see [Cardo Packtalk problems](https://lidandvisor.com/blog/cardo-packtalk-problems) if audio sounds thin after fitting.

If neither price suits you, the Packtalk Neo lists at $323.96 with second generation DMC for up to 15 riders. Compare it in [Cardo Packtalk Edge vs Neo](https://lidandvisor.com/blog/cardo-packtalk-edge-vs-neo).

## How to decide in four steps

If you are still unsure, think about what you would miss. Riders who skip crash detection and later ride solo on empty roads often wish they had it. Riders who always ride in a pack rarely notice it is missing. Auto on/off and bigger speakers are pleasant, but on their own they are not usually worth paying extra.

If you are also weighing Sena, read [Cardo Packtalk Pro vs Sena 60S](https://lidandvisor.com/blog/cardo-packtalk-vs-sena-60s) and [Sena vs Cardo](https://lidandvisor.com/blog/sena-vs-cardo) before you buy, since a group that already runs Sena cannot join you on Cardo mesh.

1. Ask how often you ride alone. If it is most rides, give crash detection real weight and lean toward the Pro.
2. Check your group. If your friends run Cardo DMC units, either the Edge or the Pro will join them once firmware is current.
3. Measure your helmet's speaker pockets. The Pro's 45mm speakers need more room than smaller drivers.
4. Compare current prices for single and dual packs. The gap is about $54 for a single and about $108 for a dual at listing prices.

## Frequently asked questions

**Does the Packtalk Edge have crash detection?** The Edge listing does not mention it. Crash detection is listed on the Packtalk Pro.

**Do the Edge and Pro use the same mount?** Yes, both listings name the Air Mount magnetic mount.

**Does the Pro have a bigger battery than the Edge?** Neither listing states a battery figure, so it is not confirmed here. Check Cardo's spec sheets.

**Can an Edge and a Pro ride in the same group?** Both are Cardo DMC units designed to group together. Update both to current firmware before a ride.

## Gear guides for this topic

- https://lidandvisor.com/best/best-cardo-packtalk-intercoms
- https://lidandvisor.com/best/best-motorcycle-intercoms
