Comparison

Cardo Packtalk Pro vs Sena 60S

Published

These are the top units from the two biggest intercom brands, and riders shopping at this level usually want to know which one is worth the money. This page compares the Cardo Packtalk Pro and the Sena 60S on safety features, mesh technology, audio, waterproofing, battery and price. We also include the newer Sena 60S EVO, which switches to Bose audio. Every spec comes from the current listings, and where a listing is silent we mark it as not stated rather than fill the gap.

Headline differences

The two units overlap on most everyday jobs: phone calls, music, GPS prompts and group chat. The differences above are what should drive your decision.

  • Crash detection: listed on the Packtalk Pro; not listed on the Sena 60S.
  • Mesh: Cardo 2nd generation DMC on the Pro; Sena Mesh 3.0 on the 60S.
  • Long distance option: the 60S adds WAVE intercom, which the listing says lets riders from virtually anywhere join.
  • Audio: JBL with 45mm speakers on the Pro; Harman Kardon on the 60S, Bose on the 60S EVO.
  • Price: the Pro lists about $100 more than the 60S.

Crash detection and auto on/off

The Packtalk Pro listing names crash detection as its first feature. The listing itself does not explain how it works, how alerts are sent or whether a subscription or app setup is needed, so check Cardo's own documentation and the Cardo Connect app before you rely on it. Treat it as a backup, not a replacement for telling someone your route.

The Pro also lists auto on/off, so the unit wakes and sleeps without you pressing a button. The Sena 60S listing does not mention either feature. If crash detection matters to you, for example because you ride alone on quiet roads, that alone may decide it.

Note.No intercom feature replaces basic ride planning. Share your route and expected arrival time when riding alone.

Mesh 3.0 vs DMC, and WAVE

The 60S listing gives clear range figures: 2 km (1.2 miles) with two users, extending to 8 km (5 miles) with six or more. It runs three intercom modes: WAVE, Mesh 3.0 and Bluetooth intercom. WAVE uses a phone data connection rather than radio, so riders far apart can still talk.

The Packtalk Pro listing describes 2nd generation DMC with easy grouping and auto healing, meaning the group reconnects itself when a rider drops out and comes back. The Pro listing does not state a range or maximum group size. For reference, the Packtalk Neo listing, which also uses second generation DMC, states up to 15 riders at up to 1.6 km.

Remember that Sena Mesh and Cardo DMC do not join each other. See Sena vs Cardo and how mesh intercoms work.

Spec table

Facts from the listings only. 'Not stated' means the listing does not say.

Compare all top intercoms →

Audio, battery and build

Cardo's 45mm JBL speakers are the largest in this comparison by stated size. The Sena 60S uses Harman Kardon speakers and the 60S EVO switches to Bose, with support for active noise cancelling earbuds sold separately. If you already wear earbuds under your helmet, the EVO is worth a look.

For battery, the 60S lists up to 24 hours of talk time with fast charging and automatic over-the-air firmware updates. The Packtalk Pro listing does not state a battery figure, so a direct battery comparison is not confirmed here. The 60S also lists IPX7, which means it survives submersion to 1 meter for 30 minutes. The Pro listing does not state a rating.

Both units suit most full face and modular helmets. Check that the speakers fit your helmet's ear pockets. Our Sena 50S setup guide and how to pair a Cardo Packtalk cover first time setup.

Who should buy which

Buy the Cardo Packtalk Pro if crash detection is important to you, if you ride with a Cardo group, or if you want auto on/off and the magnetic Air Mount. It costs more, and its listing leaves battery and waterproof rating unstated.

Buy the Sena 60S if you ride with a Sena group, want stated long range and WAVE for riders far apart, or want IPX7 and a 24 hour talk time on paper, at about $100 less. Step up to the 60S EVO for Bose audio and dual helmet clamps. For the wider lineup, see our best Sena intercoms and best Cardo Packtalk intercoms guides.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Sena 60S have crash detection? The 60S listing does not mention crash detection. The Packtalk Pro listing does.

Can a Packtalk Pro and a Sena 60S talk to each other? Not over mesh. Cross-brand chat between two riders is usually done over standard Bluetooth intercom, with fewer features.

Which has longer battery life? The 60S lists up to 24 hours of talk time. The Packtalk Pro listing gives no figure, so the comparison is not confirmed here.

Is the 60S EVO worth the extra over the 60S? If you want Bose audio, ANC earbud support or a second helmet clamp, yes. Otherwise the standard 60S covers the core features for less.

What you need for this