Comparison
Sena vs Cardo intercoms
Published
Short answer
Sena and Cardo are the two biggest motorcycle intercom brands, and both now build their best units around mesh networking. Sena's 60S adds WAVE and Mesh 3.0 with a stated 24 hour talk time, while Cardo's Packtalk Pro adds crash detection and auto on/off with JBL audio. The most important factor is which system your riding group already uses, since each brand's mesh only talks to its own.

Sena
Sena 60S: WAVE, Mesh 3.0 and 24 h talk time
See price on Amazon
Sena
Sena 30K: Mesh 2.0, 24-rider group, 8 km
See price on Amazon
Cardo
Cardo Packtalk Pro: crash detection, JBL 45 mm
See price on Amazon
Cardo
Cardo Packtalk Neo: mesh for up to 15 riders
See price on Amazon
Sena 60S: WAVE, Mesh 3.0 and 24 h talk time- Range
- 2 km with 2 users, up to 8 km with 6 or more
- Riders
- Not stated
- Battery
- Up to 24 hours talk time
- Mesh/Bluetooth
- WAVE, Mesh 3.0, Bluetooth intercom
Sena 30K: Mesh 2.0, 24-rider group, 8 km- Range
- Mesh up to 8 km with 6+, Bluetooth up to 2 km
- Riders
- Group Mesh up to 24, Open Mesh near-unlimited
- Battery
- Not stated
- Mesh/Bluetooth
- Mesh 2.0, Bluetooth intercom
Cardo Packtalk Pro: crash detection, JBL 45 mm- Range
- Not stated
- Riders
- Not stated
- Battery
- Not stated
- Mesh/Bluetooth
- 2nd generation DMC mesh
Cardo Packtalk Neo: mesh for up to 15 riders- Range
- Up to 1.6 km / 1 mi
- Riders
- Up to 15
- Battery
- Not stated
- Mesh/Bluetooth
- Dynamic Mesh Gen 2
| Pick | Range | Riders | Battery | Mesh/Bluetooth | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Sena 60S: WAVE, Mesh 3.0 and 24 h talk time | 2 km with 2 users, up to 8 km with 6 or more | Not stated | Up to 24 hours talk time | WAVE, Mesh 3.0, Bluetooth intercom | - | Amazon |
Sena 30K: Mesh 2.0, 24-rider group, 8 km | Mesh up to 8 km with 6+, Bluetooth up to 2 km | Group Mesh up to 24, Open Mesh near-unlimited | Not stated | Mesh 2.0, Bluetooth intercom | - | Amazon |
Cardo Packtalk Pro: crash detection, JBL 45 mm | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2nd generation DMC mesh | - | Amazon |
Cardo Packtalk Neo: mesh for up to 15 riders | Up to 1.6 km / 1 mi | Up to 15 | Not stated | Dynamic Mesh Gen 2 | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
Verdict
Buy whichever brand your riding group already uses, because the mesh systems do not mix. Starting fresh, the Sena 60S suits riders who want WAVE, IPX7 and a long stated talk time, and the Cardo Packtalk Pro suits riders who want crash detection and Natural Voice control; the Sena 30K and Packtalk Neo are the lower cost mesh picks.
This page is for riders choosing their first serious intercom, or switching brands, who want a clear picture of how Sena and Cardo differ. We compare the two mesh systems (Sena Mesh and Cardo DMC), cross-brand pairing, audio, voice control, waterproofing and price, then line up the units that compete with each other: the Sena 60S, Sena 30K, Cardo Packtalk Pro and Cardo Packtalk Neo. Specs come only from the current listings. If a listing does not state something, the table says so.
Mesh networks: Sena Mesh vs Cardo DMC
Older Bluetooth intercoms link riders in a chain. If one rider in the middle drops out of range, the chain breaks. Mesh intercoms let each unit connect to several others at once, so the group can stretch out and reconnect on its own. Our how mesh intercoms work explainer covers this in detail.
Sena calls its system Mesh. The 30K listing describes two modes: Open Mesh for a near unlimited number of users, and Group Mesh for a private group of up to 24. The 60S moves to Mesh 3.0 and lists a range of 2 km (1.2 miles) with two users, extending to 8 km (5 miles) with six or more.
Cardo calls its system DMC (Dynamic Mesh Communication). The Packtalk Neo listing states second generation DMC for up to 15 riders at up to 1.6 km (1 mile). The Packtalk Pro listing also states 2nd generation DMC, with easy grouping and auto healing.
Can Sena and Cardo talk to each other?
Not over mesh. Sena Mesh and Cardo DMC are separate systems, so a mixed group cannot form one mesh network. Both brands support standard Bluetooth intercom, and cross-brand pairing between two riders is commonly done that way, but you lose the group mesh benefits and features vary by model and firmware.
That makes your riding group the deciding factor. If your friends all run Cardo, buy Cardo, and the same for Sena. Sena's 60S adds a third option: the listing says WAVE intercom lets riders from virtually anywhere join the conversation, using a phone data connection rather than radio range. Check the Sena app terms for what WAVE needs from the other riders.
Note.Before a group ride, pair and test every unit in the parking lot. Firmware mismatches cause most first-ride problems.
Lineup comparison table
All figures below come from the Amazon listings. Single pack prices at the time of writing.
Listing price
- Sena 60S
- $350.28
- Sena 30K
- $282.99
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- $449.95
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- $323.96
Mesh system
- Sena 60S
- Mesh 3.0 plus WAVE
- Sena 30K
- Mesh 2.0
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- DMC 2nd gen
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- DMC 2nd gen
Stated range
- Sena 60S
- 2 km (2 users), 8 km (6+)
- Sena 30K
- 8 km with 6+; BT 2 km
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- Not stated
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- 1.6 km
Group size stated
- Sena 60S
- Not stated
- Sena 30K
- Group Mesh up to 24
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- Not stated
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- Up to 15 riders
Audio
- Sena 60S
- Harman Kardon
- Sena 30K
- Sena HD speakers
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- JBL, 45mm speakers
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- JBL, 40mm speakers
Waterproof
- Sena 60S
- IPX7
- Sena 30K
- Not stated
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- Not stated
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- Waterproof (no rating stated)
Talk time stated
- Sena 60S
- Up to 24 hours
- Sena 30K
- Not stated
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- Not stated
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- Not stated
Extras
- Sena 60S
- OTA updates
- Sena 30K
- Phone, music, GPS
- Cardo Packtalk Pro
- Crash detection, auto on/off
- Cardo Packtalk Neo
- Natural Voice
| Spec | Sena 60S | Sena 30K | Cardo Packtalk Pro | Cardo Packtalk Neo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Listing price | $350.28 | $282.99 | $449.95 | $323.96 |
| Mesh system | Mesh 3.0 plus WAVE | Mesh 2.0 | DMC 2nd gen | DMC 2nd gen |
| Stated range | 2 km (2 users), 8 km (6+) | 8 km with 6+; BT 2 km | Not stated | 1.6 km |
| Group size stated | Not stated | Group Mesh up to 24 | Not stated | Up to 15 riders |
| Audio | Harman Kardon | Sena HD speakers | JBL, 45mm speakers | JBL, 40mm speakers |
| Waterproof | IPX7 | Not stated | Not stated | Waterproof (no rating stated) |
| Talk time stated | Up to 24 hours | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Extras | OTA updates | Phone, music, GPS | Crash detection, auto on/off | Natural Voice |
Audio, controls and mounting
Sena partners with Harman Kardon on the 60S and 50S, and the 60S EVO switches to Sound by Bose with support for ANC earbuds. Cardo partners with JBL: the Packtalk Neo uses 40mm speakers and the Packtalk Pro steps up to 45mm. Bigger speakers can help at highway speed, but only if they fit your helmet's speaker pockets, so measure first.
Cardo's voice control is a selling point. The Neo and Edge listings describe Natural Voice: you say 'hey Cardo' and give a command without pressing buttons. Sena's 50S listing mentions voice access to Siri or Google Assistant through your phone. Sena units such as the 50S and 60S use a jog dial for gloved control.
For mounting, Cardo's Air Mount on the Edge and Pro is a magnetic mount that the unit snaps onto. Sena's 60S EVO listing includes dual clamp kits so you can move one unit between two helmets. See how to install a Cardo Packtalk for fitting tips.
Which brand for which rider
For the top of each lineup head to head, read Cardo Packtalk Pro vs Sena 60S. If your current unit is acting up, check Cardo Packtalk problems or Sena mesh not working before you replace it.
- Your group already rides Sena: stay with Sena. The 30K is the lower cost mesh entry; the 60S is the current flagship.
- Your group already rides Cardo: stay with Cardo. The Neo is the value unit; the Pro adds crash detection.
- You ride solo or with a spouse only: either brand works. Pick by audio, controls and price.
- You ride with people spread over long distances: the 60S lists WAVE intercom, which does not rely on radio range.
- You use an open face or half helmet: see intercoms for open face and half helmets.
Frequently asked questions
Is Sena or Cardo better? Neither wins outright. Cardo's top unit adds crash detection and auto on/off; Sena's adds WAVE and a stated 24 hour talk time. Match the brand your group uses.
Can a Sena and a Cardo connect? Not over mesh. Two riders can usually pair over standard Bluetooth intercom, with fewer features than a same brand mesh group.
Which has better range? The listings state up to 8 km for Sena 60S with six or more users and 1.6 km for Cardo Packtalk Neo. Real range depends on terrain and how many riders relay the signal.
Do I need a dual pack? Only if you are equipping two helmets at once. Dual packs are sold for both brands and usually cost less than two singles.
What you need for this
See price on AmazonAmazonCardo Packtalk Neo: mesh for up to 15 riders
From Best motorcycle intercoms for solo riders, couples and groups
See price on AmazonAmazonSena 60S: WAVE, Mesh 3.0 and 24 h talk time